Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Cranford Office

FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

New Jersey DWI Penalties

Our Law Firm Has Successfully Handled Thousands of Criminal, DWI, and Municipal Court Charges Throughout Union County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

OUR REVIEWS SPEAK FOR THEMSELVES

Keith G OliverReviewsout of 55 reviews William A ProettaReviewsout of 30 reviews

Linden NJ Second Offense DUI Attorney

New Jersey has some of the most serious DWI penalties in the entire country. One of the most severe penalties is the fact that there is a mandatory suspension of your driving privileges for upwards of 1 year for even a first offense DUI. Other consequences include an installation of an interlock device, community service, thousands in fines and surcharges, as well as incarceration. To make matters worse, there is standing rule by the Administrative Office of the Courts “AOC” that courts are not allowed to plea bargain with DWI defendants. This means the only way to beat or downgrade a DUI charge is to aggressively challenge the state’s case against you that they cannot prove certain elements of the charged offense. Please see the following chart to get an idea of what New Jersey DWI and Refusal penalties entail:

First DUI Offense

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) License Suspension Fines and Assessments Prison Term
.08% – .99% Three (3) Months $805- $1005 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years) Up to 30 days
.10% and higher Seven (7) Months $755- $905 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years) Up to 30 days

 Second DUI Offense

 
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) License Suspension Fines and Assessments Prison Term
.08% and higher Two (2) Years $1,055- $1,555 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years) 48 hours- 90 days

 Third DUI Offense (within 10 years of 2nd offense)

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) License Suspension Fines and Assessments Prison Term
.08% and higher Ten (10) Years $1,555 plus $1,500/ year surcharge(for 3 years) 180 days

Other less publicized penalties include:

If you would like to learn more about how we can help you defend your DWI charges, then contact our office at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation with an experienced defense attorney who can answer all your questions and address any concerns. We have representatives available 24/7 to answer your call.

More Helpful DWI Related Links

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted

JERSEY CITY OFFICE

101 Hudson St, 21st floor Jersey City NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

EDISON OFFICE

3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

CRANFORD OFFICE

20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, New Jersey 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions