Speeding is a ticket that everybody has gotten at least once in their life or you know someone that has. New Jersey’s many busy highways and infamous rush hour traffic leads to a majority of this state’s drivers who speed in excess of the marked speed limit to some extent. The punishment for a speeding ticket is regulated the defendant’s top speed and how fast the car was traveling in excess of the speed limit. A high enough speed can result in a license suspension and even jail time. Although most speeding violations are relatively minor, they can quickly add up to serious points with the DMV which will increase your car insurance and also lead to a suspension. At the Proetta & Oliver we have successfully represented clients against thousands of charges and motor vehicle violations over the years including countless speeding charges. Contact our office today at (908) 838-0150 to speak with an experienced defense lawyer during a free consultation.
New Jersey Speeding Law
The statute in New Jersey which regulates speeding violations is N.J.S.A. 39:4-98. It states that a motorist must operate their motor vehicle at a certain listed speed designated by the surrounding population density unless an alternative speed limit has been approved by the appropriate State, County and/or Municipal authority. The statute, in pertinent part, has been provided below for your convenience.
a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;
b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district; or
(2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;
c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act, N.J.S. 39:4-98.3.
Speeding Ticket – Points Chart
|1 – 14 mph over the speed limit||2 points|
|15 – 29 mph over the speed limit||4 points|
|30 mph or more over the speed limit||5 points|
The above chart illustrates the points you will be assessed if you are found guilty or plead guilty to speeding. It is important to take note of this, because in New Jersey if you obtain 12 points on your license, your license may be administratively suspended by the DMV. Most out-of-state drivers think that these points might not apply to them, but the points do transfer to your home state in many circumstances in accordance with N.J.S.A 39:4-9.1, which says New Jersey provides the exchange of speeding ticket information to other states thru a reciprocity agreement. Moreover, if you are caught driving at an excessive speed (more than 30 mph over the speed limit or over 90 mph then you will most likely be charged with Reckless Driving in addition to any speeding charge. Furthermore, if the speeding occurs in a 65 mph zone or construction zone then the fines will be doubled. Contact our office at (908) 838-0150 to speak with an experienced speeding ticket lawyer during a free consultation. Keep in mind that if you are an out-of-state resident we can appear in municipal court on your behalf and resolve the case by affidavit so you do not have to travel.
More Links for New Jersey Traffic Offenses
|New Jersey Driving While Suspended Lawyer||Reckless Driving Lawyer in New Jersey|
|NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Points||NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyer|
|New Jersey Careless Driving Attorney||New Jersey Driving Without Insurance Attorney|