If you have been arrested for harassment you will be subject to serious penalties if found guilty such as, court ordered counseling, probation, a criminal record, and even county jail time. The services of an experienced criminal defense lawyer with a proven track record of success can often make the difference between a finding of guilty or not guilty. The Proetta & Oliver is dedicated to exclusively defending clients against criminal charges including harassment. Founding attorney, Will Proetta, Esq., has handled well over 1,000 cases during his career and prides his firm on working closely with our clients throughout each stage of the case. We represent clients charged with harassment throughout Union County and the surrounding area including Roselle, Elizabeth, Cranford, Scotch Plains, Kenilworth, and Springfield. Call us today at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation with a criminal lawyer who can answer your questions about your case and potential representation.
In New Jersey a harassment charge is considered a petty disorderly persons offense and is typically handled in municipal court. If found guilty of petty disorderly persons offense you can face up to 30 days of incarceration in the county jail to be determined by the judge. Harassment is normally seen in domestic violence cases and will typically be with companion charges such as Simple Assault or Terroristic Threats and can even be the basis for a Final Restraining Order. A passage of the New Jersey statute for harassment 2C:33-4 has been provided for your convenience below.
New Jersey Harassment 2C:33-4 Law
The statute in pertinent part provides:
A person commits a petty disorderly persons offense if, with purpose to harass another, he:
a. Makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
b. Subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or
c. Engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person.
A communication under subsection a. may be deemed to have been made either at the place where it originated or at the place where it was received.
Charges for Cyber-Harassment in NJ
Since the proliferation of electronic devices and social media sites that facilitate constant communication, New Jersey enacted a specific law against cyber-harassment. N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4.1 prohibits communication in an online capacity via electronic devices or social networking sites that is intended to harass another person. This includes conduct described in the general harassment statute, as well as online communications involving indecent or obscene material. Typically, cyber-harassment is considered a fourth degree crime, punishable by up to 18 months in NJ State Prison and a fine of $10,000. Notably, these charges are elevated to third degree crimes if the defendant is over the age of 21 and impersonates a minor with the purpose of cyber-harassing a minor.
Summit New Jersey Harassment Defense Lawyer
Harassment is directed at private annoyances, in contrast to the offense of Disorderly Conduct, which is limited to general disturbances and public annoyance. One of the key factors that the state must show to prove harassment has occurred is that defendant did it with the purpose to harass the victim. As a side note, case law has held that profanity and the use of foul language, by itself is not enough to show intent to harass another. The elements of a harassment case can be complicated and serious and therefore it is always strongly recommended that you have professional representation from an experienced harassment attorney. Contact our Cranford Office to speak with a defense lawyer about the details of your case and what we can do for you at (908) 838-0150.