If you have been charged or arrested for DWI in Kenilworth New Jersey it is important that you know your options and the penalties that you are exposed to. A conviction or guilty plea to a DWI may result in a mandatory loss of your driver’s license, the length of which is determined by your number of prior offenses, as well as your blood alcohol content at the time of the offense. Moreover, you will be exposed to other consequences which include installation of an interlock device in your car, community service, mandatory drunk driving classes, thousands in fines and surcharges, and even jail time. An experienced New Jersey DWI lawyer can challenge the state’s case against you and create leverage to work out a downgrade or even a complete dismissal. At Proetta & Oliver, we have successfully handled hundreds of DWI cases over years throughout Union County and New Jersey. The firm’s founding attorney, Will Proetta, has credentials include which certification as a Standard Field Sobriety Testing Instructor and certified Alcotest operator as trained by the manufacturer, Draeger. If you would like to learn more about how we can help you or your loved one then please contact us at (908) 838-0150 for a free initial consultation with an experienced DUI lawyer who can answer your questions.
Arrested for DWI in Kenilworth
Kenilworth is a small quiet borough that surprisingly writes a large amount of driving while intoxicated tickets throughout the year. This is credited to the Garden State Parkway which runs directly thru the borough and the Boulevard (County Road 509) that provides a lot of local traffic. The Parkway provides for a high volume of traffic and DWI stops by State Troopers which patrol the area. If you have been stopped for drunk driving in Kenilworth, whether by a State Trooper or local Kenilworth police officer then you will be required to appear in Kenilworth Municipal Court to defend your charges. DWI charges are complicated cases that will often take multiple appearances over months. You should be prepared to be in court for several hours on the day of your appearance. Lastly, it is highly advised that you hire a DUI defense attorney before your court date so that they can appear with you in court.
DUI Lawyers in Kenilworth New Jersey
DWI offenses are some of the most severe and difficult charges to challenge in New Jersey. For instance, the state does not allow any plea bargaining whatsoever for individuals charged with DUI. Moreover, defendants cannot get a jury trial – but instead the municipal judge has the exclusive duty to rule on the merits and proofs of the case. On top of all of this, the administrative office of the courts (AOC) mandates that the municipal courts resolve these cases within 60 days of the DWI arrest. This puts the defendant in a tough position to receive all the evidence, have time to analyze, and come up with an aggressive defense. This is why it is so important to get an attorney involved as early on as possible because there is a voluminous amount of work that must be done within a relatively short period of time. If you would like to contact our office, call us at (908) 838-0150 for a free initial consultation with an experienced DWI defense lawyer who can explain your options and address your concerns.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted