If you have been charged or arrested for DWI by Mountainside police then it is important that you speak with a lawyer about the facts of your case to learn your options and any potential penalties you are facing. In New Jersey, a DWI charge is not a crime and is actually considered motor vehicle ticket. However, the penalties are in some cases just as severe and the offense can be even more difficult to defend. This is because New Jersey does not allow any plea bargaining for defendants charged with a DUI. And if you are convicted you may be sentenced to a mandatory suspension of your driver’s license, which can be up to 6 months for a first offense, and up to 8 years for a third or subsquent offense. You can also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your car, perform community service, attend driving classes, pay thousands in surcharges and fines, and even serve jail time. An experienced DWI attorney can be your most valuable resource when trying to fight a driving while intoxicated case. At Proetta & Oliver we have successfully defended hundreds of clients against DWI charges in Union County and New Jersey. We will aggressively defend your case while simultaneously working with the state to resolve your charges. If you would like to discuss the details of your case with an experienced DUI defense lawyer, contact our office located in Cranford at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation.
Mountainside, New Jersey DWI Arrests
Mountainside is a small quiet borough made up of large homes in developments. U.S. Route 22 runs through the borough and contributes to the number of traffic stops and DWI arrests each year. If you have been arrested for DUI then you will have to appear in the Mountainside Municipal Court which is located at 1385 Route 22 East, Mountainside NJ, 07092. Mountainside holds court Thursdays at 9:00 a.m., with the exception of the second week of the month when court is held on Wednesday at 5:00 p.m. However, when court is not in session, the court office maintains regular operating hours during the week Monday thru Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Judge Frank Sahaji hears all Mountainside criminal and traffic cases including DWI charges. It is strongly recommended that you contact a defense attorney well in advance of your court date because of the difficult nature of these cases.
Mountainside Driving Under the Influence Lawyer
At this point it should be no secret that New Jersey takes driving while intoxicated charges very seriously which is clearly evidenced by the hurdles that the state has put into place to purposely make it not easy to fight these offenses. Defendants are further handicapped by having no right to a jury trial for DUI charges – unlike a lot of other states in the surrounding area. To make matters worse, municipal courts are under strict guidelines to resolve these charges within 60 days and this can put defendants in a precarious position to have enough time to prepare a thorough defense. Lastly, New Jersey does not offer any “hardship” or work license during your period of suspension. If you would like to learn more about how we can help you, contact us today at (908) 838-0150. We are experienced in handling DWI charges and can answer your questions during a free initial consultation.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted