If you have been arrested for a DUI or Refusal to submit to a chemical test in Springfield New Jersey then there are a few important facts that you should know. If found guilty you may lose your license for a mandatory period of time ranging from 3 months to up to 8 years, depending on your prior convictions for DWI and your blood alcohol level at the time if it is your first offense. Moreover, you will be facing other penalties which include installation of an interlock device in your car, mandatory drunk driving classes, and thousands in fines and surcharges. At Proetta & Oliver we have successfully represented hundreds of clients against DWI charges over the years. Our credentials include operator certification and training by Draeger, the manufacturer of the Alcotest machine and as an Instructor of the Standard Field Sobriety Testing, which is taught to and used by the police officers in New Jersey in accordance with the National Highway Traffic Safety administration. If you would like to learn more about how we can handle your DWI case contact us at (908) 838-0150 to speak with an experienced DUI attorney.
DUI Arrests in Springfield New Jersey
Springfield to the small moderately wealthy community close to Milburn in Short Hills with an unlikely high number of the DWI arrests each year. This is largely contributable to the fact that several major highways and roadways run through the township including I-78, U.S. Route 22, Route 24, and Route 124. The results are a large amount of State Trooper cases involving a number of commuters and transient drivers traveling through the state.
After you are stopped by police, it is likely that the officer will question you and then observe your behavior. It is important to understand that you could be arrested and charged with a DWI even if you do not register as intoxicated on a breath test or blood test. The observations of the police officer, coupled with evidence like field sobriety testing performance, can be used as proof of intoxication by the prosecution at trial. If you have bloodshot eyes, a flushed face, the odor of alcohol on your breath, or struggle to respond to simple questions, this may be enough for the officer to establish reasonable suspicion that you are drunk. It is also possible for you to be charged with a DWI if you fail a breathalyzer test. While some people mistakenly believe that they can’t be charged with drunk driving if they simply refuse to take the breathalyzer test, the reality is that all motorists in New Jersey automatically consent to an Alcotest breath test even before they are asked by police. Moreover, a driver who refuses to take the breathalyzer is certain to face DWI refusal charges, and even potentially two different charges: a DWI charge and a charge for Breath Test Refusal.
It does not matter if you are pulled over by New Jersey State Trooper or a local Springfield Township police officer, you will still be required to appear in Springfield Municipal Court to address your charges. Given the seriousness of drunk driving charges, it is highly recommended that you hire an attorney before your court date so that they may appear with you in court.
Springfield NJ Refusal Lawyer
Driving while intoxicated and refusal charges in New Jersey are always a tough uphill battle that requires the knowledge and skills of an experienced litigation attorney. For instance, in New Jersey you are not allowed a trial by jury – instead your fate is solely in the hands of the judge, which can often be problematic for obvious reasons. Moreover, the prosecutor is prohibited from offering any plea negotiations on DWI charges. To complicate things more, the Municipal Courts are under strict guidelines to resolve DWI cases within 60 days of the initial arrest. This can put defendants at a great disadvantage especially if you do not get an attorney involved in your case early on. At Proetta & Oliver we will comb through the state’s case against you to pinpoint technicalities and problems with the proofs and exploit the prosecutions weaknesses in order to achieve a downgrade of your charges or even a complete dismissal. Contact our office at (908) 838-0150 for a free initial consultation with a defense attorney who can answer your questions and address your concerns. We have representatives available 24/7.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted