An ignition interlock device is one of the numerous possible penalties for a conviction of driving while intoxicated in New Jersey. For a conviction on a first offense DWI, the municipal court judge is required to order the installation of an interlock device in your primary vehicle for a period of 3 months if your BAC is below 0.10%. If your BAC reading is 0.10% to up to 0.15%, then the ignition interlock device is required for 7 to 12 months. Finally, if your breath reading shows an alcohol concentration of 0.15% or greater, then the penalty becomes mandatory for a period of 9 to 15 months, even for a first time offender. Moreover, a conviction for Refusal to Submit to a Breath Test also requires a mandatory interlock device be installed in your vehicle. For first time offenders charged with DWI refusal, the judge may require you to have the interlock device in your car for between 6 – 12 months following your suspension. For subsequent convictions for DUI in New Jersey, the ignition interlock device becomes a mandatory penalty that must be imposed at sentencing. Moreover, the required period of installation increases to 2 – 4 years following your suspension. Ignition interlock devices can be bothersome, expensive and down right embarrassing. If you have been charged with drunk driving in New Jersey it is important that you consult with an experienced attorney who can answer your questions regarding various penalties including the ignition interlock device.
NJ DWI Ignition Interlock Device Law
A common tool that is often used by municipal courts throughout New Jersey to deter subsequent drunk driving is the Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID).This is because the device works as a breathalyzer which is attached to your vehicle’s ignition system that is used to start and run your car. In order to start and continue driving your car, you have to blow into the ignition interlock device. If your BAC is 0.05% or higher then the car will not start. Furthermore, drivers are often required to exhale into the IID at various times after the automobile has started to ensure that the driver has remained alcohol-free. In the event that the driver’s BAC s is over the limit, the ignition interlock device will warn the driver to turn off the vehicle through horn honking, flashing lights, etc. which are made to draw the attention of bystanders and police officers. Lastly, if you are caught tampering with the device or trying to circumvent the procedure by having a friend blow into the interlock device, it is a criminal offense punishable by jail time and an additional suspension.
If you have been arrested for a driving while intoxicated in New Jersey then it is important you learn and understand the penalties you are facing. As you can see the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device into your automobile can be a burdensome, costly, and potentially embarrassing consequence of a DWI conviction. If you or your loved one is facing these consequences as a result of a drunk driving arrest, then contact Proetta & Oliver today to learn more about how we can help you avoid the charges that you face. Our attorneys are available 24/7 and initial consultations are free of charge. To build a case strategy to meet your needs contact us at (908) 838-0150.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted