Union Township writes some of the most DWIs in all of Union County, which should be no surprise given the amount of major roads and highways that crisscross through the town. If you are ticketed for a DWI then you will be summoned to appear in Union Township municipal court. Although a charge of driving while intoxicated is considered a motor vehicle violation, the consequences can be extremely harsh. A conviction for DUI may result in a mandatory loss of license, an ignition interlock device, thousands in fines and surcharges, community service, and mandatory drunk driving classes. Hiring the right attorney may be the most important decision you make during this entire process. Founding attorney, William A. Proetta, has successfully represented hundreds of clients against DUI charges throughout New Jersey including Union Township. He knows the courts and he knows how the system works. Let us put our knowledge and experience to work for you. If you would like to discuss the details of your case and our firm’s potential representation contact our office today at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation with an experienced defense attorney.
Major Roadways for DWI Stops in Union Township
Union is traversed by a network of local and regional roadways including:
Garden State Parkway
U.S. Route 22
Route 82 (Morris Ave)
These roadways are patrolled by combination of Union Township police, New Jersey State Troopers, and Union County police which contribute to the large amount of DWI tickets in Union each year. However, no matter which agency stops you, if you are arrested in Union Township for driving while intoxicated, you will have to appear in Union Township Municipal Court to address your charges.
What You are Facing if Convicted of Drunk Driving in Union NJ
If you are convicted on DUI charges in New Jersey, the consequences are likely to impact you in multiple detrimental ways. Not only could you be looking at jail time, but you may also have your driving privileges suspended. Some of the most significant penalties for a DWI offense include:
Jail: Although a first-time offender is unlikely to be sentenced to jail time, an individual convicted of a second, third, or subsequent offense for DWI will face mandatory jail time.
Driver’s License Suspension: Anyone convicted of drunk driving in NJ may have their driver’s license suspended for a period determined by the number of prior convictions for DUI, along with the driver’s blood alcohol level if it’s a first offense. For first timers charged with DWI, an ignition interlock device must be installed in your vehicle for at least three (3) months, before which your license will be suspended. A repeat offender can have their driver’s license suspended for up to 8 years. Even second offenses carry 1 to 2-year license suspension.
Fines: The monetary fines imposed by the court in a DWI case can be significant, with some offenders being ordered to pay up to $1,000 in fines, in addition to other financial penalties and court costs.
Ignition Interlock Device: Anyone convicted of a DWI will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. For people whose licenses have been suspended, this can last for months to even years once their driver’s license has been reinstated. The ignition interlock device is like a breathalyzer, with the driver needing to blow into it before the car’s ignition will start. If the driver’s breath shows a blood alcohol concentration above 0.05%, the car won’t start. Additionally, the driver will face consequences from the court if they fail to install or tamper with an interlock device so ordered.
IDRC Classes: An Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, or IDRC, is located in each county in New Jersey. A person convicted of drunk driving will be ordered to attend alcohol education classes at the IDRC as part of an intoxicated driver program.
MVC Surcharges: Once a DWI offender’s license has been reinstated, they will be subject to surcharges from the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) in order to maintain their driving privileges in the state. These surcharges can last for a total of three (3) years and come with the added financial detriment of increases on your insurance.
Community Service: The judge in a DWI case has the discretion to order the defendant to perform community service. Failure to fulfill any of the community service requirements imposed by the judge could result in the defendant being sentenced to jail.
Union New Jersey DUI Attorneys
New Jersey municipal prosecutors are under strict guidelines from the administrative office of the courts (AOC) to prosecute DWI charges to the fullest extent and not offer any plea negotiations. For obvious reasons this can make getting a “good deal” very hard for the average defendant. That is why at the Proetta & Oliver we concentrate in pinpointing technicalities in the state’s case and exploit the weaknesses so the prosecution cannot establish the elements of the statute. This allows us to often work out extraordinary results for our clients. Will Proetta pulls from his expertise as a certified instructor for Standard Field Sobriety Testing and as a certified operator of the Alcotest machine – credentials that few attorneys in the entire state of New Jersey share. To learn more about how we can help you, contact our office at (908) 838-0150 to speak with a defense attorney for a free initial consultation. Our representatives are available 24 hours a day.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted