Attorney for Receiving Stolen Property in Union County, New Jersey
New Jersey takes the crime of receiving stolen property very seriously because it promotes and supports the original acts of shoplifting, theft or burglary. Because the law regarding this type of theft is so broad, these charges are often riddled with legal issues and have the potential for unknowing innocent people being charged. Therefore, it is entirely beneficial to have the representation of an experienced criminal lawyer to litigate and argue these material issues surrounding your case. As founding attorney, Will Proetta Esq., has represented clients on thousands of different criminal and municipal charges throughout New Jersey including receiving stolen property. If you have been arrested for receiving stolen property in Cranford, Elizabeth, Clark, Linden, Union Twp, Westfield, or Springfield then contact our office, conveniently located in Scotch Plains, to set up a free initial consultation with a criminal defense lawyer at (908) 838-0150.
2C:20-7 New Jersey Receiving Stolen Property Law
The New Jersey statute for receiving stolen property is listed below, in pertinent part, for your convenience.
§ 2C:20-7 Receiving Stolen Property
a. Receiving. A person is guilty of theft if he knowingly receives or brings into this State movable property of another knowing that it has been stolen, or believing that it is probably stolen. It is an affirmative defense that the property was received with purpose to restore it to the owner. “Receiving” means acquiring possession, control or title, or lending on the security of the property.
Elements of Receiving Stolen Property in New Jersey
1) The defendant received or transported property of another; and 2) The defendant acted knowingly when he or she received or transported the movable property of another; and finally 3) The defendant either knew that the property had been stolen or had reason to believe that it was stolen at the time he or she either received it.
What is the Punishment for Receiving Stolen Property?
The guidelines for grading theft crimes, such as receiving stolen property, are found under the New Jersey statute 2C:20-11 and are as follows.
2nd Degree – if the property is valued at more than $75,000; punishable by 5 – 10 years in prison with a presumption of incarceration.
3rd Degree – if the property is valued at between $500 and $75,000; punishable by up 3 – 5 years in prison.
4th Degree – if the property is valued at $200.00 – $500.00; punishable by up to 18 months in state prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense – if the property is less than $200; punishable by up to 6 months in county jail.
Receiving Stolen Property Attorney in Elizabeth
Normally, the state will choose to prosecute cases involving cases involving property worth at least several hundred. That is why we commonly see third degree receiving stolen property cases. Our firm will work with the prosecutor in an effort to have your charges downgraded, dismissed or secure your admittance into a diversion program such as Pre-Trial Intervention. Diversion programs allow you to get all your charges dismissed upon successful completion. We represent clients charged with the theft and receiving stolen property throughout New Jersey including New Providence, Clark, Roselle Park, Kenilworth, Summit and Westfield. Contact our office, today at (908) 838-0150 to speak with an experienced receiving stolen property lawyer about your options and circumstances of your case.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted