A DWI charge in New Jersey is very serious and can be tough to fight, especially if you do not know how the court system handles these offenses. New Jersey has established certain hurdles to make fighting a DUI hard. For instance, there is a strict timeline of 60 days for these charges to be resolved and New Jersey does not allow defendants any plea bargaining or the right to a jury trial. Because of these reasons, most DWI cases hinge on substantive and procedural technicalities and an experienced DWI defense attorney can make the difference between winning and losing. As the firm’s founding attorney, Will Proetta, has invested a large part of his practice and time to DUI defense to help ensure that his skills and knowledge are at the highest standards. This includes becoming certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as an Instructor for the Standard Field Sobriety Testing used by police and being trained by the inventor of the Alcotest (New Jersey’s breathalyzer) as a certified operator of the Alcotest machine. This level of training is only matched by a handful of lawyers in the entire state and allows our firm to pinpoint and exploit issues in our client’s cases that often lead to the breath readings being suppressed or even a dismissal of the DWI altogether. If you have been charged or arrested for DWI in Fanwood, then contact us at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation or to set up an appointment at our Cranford office.
Fanwood New Jersey DUI Charges
Fanwood is a small suburban borough that is just over a square mile in total size. However the borough has been writing an increased amount of DWI charges as a result of aggressive police presence on the roadways including Route 28 which runs through town. If you are arrested for DWI in Fanwood then you will be required to appear in Fanwood Municipal Court which is located at 75 N. Martine Avenue, Fanwood, NJ. Court sessions are held on three Thursdays each month. The business hours for the Fanwood Borough Municipal Court are Monday through Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. The Fanwood Borough Municipal Court phone number is (908) 322-6750. The Honorable Susan M. MacMullan is the Municipal Court Judge. The Municipal Prosecutor is Daniel Antonelli and Joy A. Veeck is the Municipal Court Administrator. The Municipal Court’s fax number is (908) 322-1378. It is strongly recommended that you contact an experienced DUI defense attorney well in advance of your court date because of the difficult nature of these cases.
DUI & Refusal Defense Attorney in Fanwood
The penalties for a DWI, even a first offense in New Jersey, are tough and severe. We have created a chart below for your convenience that lists the different penalties for a first offense. It should be noted that the DMV insurance surcharges listed below are in addition to any increase from your car insurance company.
BAC .08% – .09% penalties
3 month license suspension – 90 days
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center IDRC: 12 hours
New Jersey DMV Surcharge: $1,000.00 per year for three years
Fine: $250.00 to $400.00
Jail up to 30 days – under egregious circumstances
BAC is 0.10%, and over penalties
7 month to 1 year loss of license – 210 to 360 days
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center – 12 hours
New Jersey DMV Surcharge: $1,000/year for 3 years
Mandatory interlock device – if your BAC is .15% or higher
Fine: $300.00 to $500.00
Up to 30 days in jail – under egregious circumstances
In New Jersey, all license suspensions are mandatory and the state does not offer any form of hardship of work licenses like most other states. If you have been charged with a DUI in Fanwood then contact us at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation with an experienced DWI lawyer.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted