Whether you’re young and or you have been driving for many years, being charged with DWI in New Jersey for the first time can be a nerve-wracking situation. While the penalties for first offense DWI in New Jersey are less severe than those for offenders with a history of DWI charges, they are still significant and will result in suspension of your driver’s license, fines, and other serious penalties if you’re convicted. If you have recently been charged with a 1st DUI offense in New Jersey, it is imperative that you have an experienced DWI lawyer helping you to avoid the life-altering consequences you are facing. The skilled DWI defense attorneys at Proetta & Oliver possess a unique combination of experience and credentials when it comes to defending clients charged with driving under the influence in New Jersey. Our firm’s founder, William A. Proetta, is dually trained on the Alcotest 7110 breathalyzer machine and in standardized field sobriety testing. He uses these rare qualifications to pinpoint procedural errors and constitutional violations that can be used to have your DWI charges dismissed. For more information about first DWI offenses, penalties, and defenses in New Jersey, contact our Cranford office at (908) 838-0150 today. We provide consultations free of charge.
1st Offense DWI in New Jersey
New Jersey takes driving while intoxicated very seriously, as it can result in the loss of life or severe injuries to you and innocent drivers on the road. For this reason, the penalties for a first-time DWI offense in New Jersey are significant. If you are found guilty of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% to 0.10%, penalties for first time offenders include up to 30 days of imprisonment, loss of license for a period of 3 months—making it difficult to get to work and fulfill other obligations, 12 mandatory class hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, fines between $250 to $400, and the potential installation of an ignition interlock in your vehicle for 6 to 12 months.
If you are found guilty of driving with a BAC at or above 0.10% and it is your first DUI charge, then you will face more severe penalties including fines of $300 to $500, license suspension for 7 to 12 months, and, if your BAC is above 0.15%, a mandatory installation of an ignition interlock for 6 months to 1 year. Although there are diversionary programs available for first-time criminal offenders in New Jersey, there are no such programs available for individuals charged with driving while intoxicated, even if it is your first time.
Also, there are no hardship licenses available if you are convicted of DUI in New Jersey. The mandatory license suspension is non-negotiable and you cannot take a plea to avoid this penalty. For a first drunk driving offense, a conviction will result in license suspension for a period of at least 3 months if your BAC is between 0.08% to 0.10%, and a minimum of 7 months if your BAC is 0.10% or higher. It is very important that you do not drive with a suspended license, as it can result in an extension of your license suspension for 1 to 2 years.
Linden NJ First DUI Defense Attorneys
A DWI conviction can have a serious adverse impact on your life, freedom, and finances. Choosing to hire an experienced DWI defense lawyer in New Jersey gives you a better chance of having the charges against you dismissed. The lawyers at our firm have handled countless DWI and refusal to provide a breath sample cases and are very familiar with the best and most effective defense arguments. We are also very knowledgeable about issues with evidence the prosecutor may attempt to submit against you and how to get evidence excluded, whenever applicable. Call (908) 838-0150 today and one of our experienced New Jersey DWI attorneys will provide you with a free consultation.
Additional NJ DWI Information & Resources
For more information about DWI charges in New Jersey and topics that may apply to your case, please follow the links below:
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted