In New Jersey, driving without insurance is arguably the most severe motor vehicle you can get. This is because if you found guilty of operating a motor vehicle without insurance you will lose your drivers license for a mandatory period of one (1) year period, no question about it. Moreover, you can be ordered to perform community service, pay surcharges, and face time in the county jail. New Jersey does not offer any “hardship” or work license program so the suspension period is absolute and if you are caught driving while suspended you face additional penalties including further loss of license. Proetta & Oliver has successfully defended clients against thousands of municipal court charges and motor vehicle violations including driving without insurance. We are normally able to get driving without insurance charges amended or even dismissed altogether so our clients avoid loss of license. We represent clients throughout New Jersey including Summit, Roselle, Fanwood, Garwood, Hillside, Kenilworth and Plainfield. If you have any further questions or would like to learn about possible representation, contact our office at (908) 838-0150 for a free initial consultation with an experienced driving without insurance attorney.
Uninsured Driver NJ Statute 39:6B-2
New Jersey has “strict liability” for motor vehicle insurance which means you cannot use the excuse you did not know that the vehicle was not insured. The responsibility always rests with the owner of the vehicle, or title holder – however any person driving the vehicle can be ticketed for 39:6B-2 driving without insurance if they are operating someone else’s car that is not properly insured. In this state, your auto insurance must be at least $15,000 personal injury or death, $30,000 for multi-injury/death and $5,000 for damage to property, anything less is inadequate. The purpose behind the driving without insurance statute is to encourage the public to have motor vehicle insurance so New Jersey’s are safer. This is why the court will normally consider many factors on how they will seek to prosecute the charge including, the reason for the lapse in coverage, how long you were without insurance, and whether you were properly notified of the termination of coverage.
1st Offense Driving Without Insurance
1 year loss of license
Potential community service
2nd or Subsequent Driving Without Insurance
Mandatory 14 days county jail
2 year loss of license
30 days community service
Petition DMV for your license
Clark NJ Driving Without Insurance Attorney
Often times the experience of an aggressive municipal court defense lawyer can make a huge difference in who your case resolves including license suspension. At Proetta & Oliver we know the court system and we know what works and, more importantly, what does not work. If the court takes a hard stance on your uninsured case, then you have to fight right back – we can put the state to their burden of establishing the elements and all of their proofs at trial, which can be a daunting task for the prosecution. If you or a loved one is facing a driving without insurance ticket, contact our office today to speak with a municipal court defense lawyer about the details of your case and potential representation for absolutely free. We have representatives available 24/7 to answer your calls.
Additional Links for Traffic Violations in New Jersey
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted