Cranford Office

FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

Driving with a Suspended License

Our Law Firm Has Successfully Handled Thousands of Criminal, DWI, and Municipal Court Charges Throughout Union County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

OUR REVIEWS SPEAK FOR THEMSELVES

Keith G OliverReviewsout of 55 reviews William A ProettaReviewsout of 30 reviews

Cranford NJ Driving While Suspended Attorney

Driving while suspended in New Jersey is a serious motor vehicle charge that can result in additional loss of your driving privileges and even jail time for subsequent offenses. In recent years the State has taken a harsher stance on these tickets and often elects to aggressively prosecute suspended driver charges. An experienced defense lawyer can help you avoid some or all of these consequences. The Proetta & Oliver has represented clients against thousands of municipal court and motor vehicle charges over the years including driving while suspended tickets. We defend clients throughout New Jersey including Union Township, Linden, Kenilworth, Rahway, Elizabeth, Springfield, Westfield, Scotch Plains and Hillside. If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving with a suspended license then contact our office today at (908) 838-0150 for a free consultation with an experienced traffic defense attorney.

New Jersey Driving with a Revoked License Law

The New Jersey statute N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 which governs the violation of driving while suspended is provided in pertinent part below for your convenience:

No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition.

No person whose motor vehicle registration has been revoked shall operate or permit the operation of such motor vehicle during the period of such revocation.

What Are the Penalties for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey?

The penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey according to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 are as follows:

First Offense Driving Suspended

  • Up to six (6) months additional license suspension
  • $500 fine

Second Offense Driving Suspended

  • Mandatory 1 – 5 days in county jail
  • Up to six (6) months additional license suspension
  • $750 fine

Third of Subsequent Driving Suspended

  • Mandatory ten (10) days in county jail
  • Up to six (6) months additional license suspension
  • $1000 fine

Driving While Suspended Lawyers in Roselle Park, NJ

As illustrated above, driving with a suspended license in New Jersey can be a very serious offense which can drastically impact your life. A loss of license be extremely inconvenient if you need to drive to and from work or school. Additionally, a conviction for driving with a suspended license will lead to costly insurance surcharges, insurance points, and a permanent record on your driver’s abstract. In reality, a majority of our clients do not even realize they were suspended at the time of the incident. This is because a lot of people’s licenses are unknowingly suspended due to unpaid parking tickets, failure to appear in court, or missing a surcharge payment. Moreover, a conviction for driving while suspended or revoked can be enhanced if the suspension was because of a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated). If you are found guilty of driving while suspended for DWI you will serve mandatory incarceration up to ninety (90) days in county jail and face an additional loss of license of up to 1 – 2 years. An experienced attorney can work with the prosecutor and navigate the court system to get these charges downgraded or dismissed altogether. If you or a loved one has been charged with driving while suspended then contact our office today at (908) 838-0150 to speak with a traffic defense lawyer during a free initial consultation.

Related Information on New Jersey Traffic Offenses

New Jersey Driving Without Insurance Attorney NJ DMV Point Schedule
New Jersey Reckless Driving Lawyer New Jersey Speeding Ticket Attorney
Careless Driving Charges in New Jersey Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ

 

 

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted

JERSEY CITY OFFICE

101 Hudson St, 21st floor Jersey City NJ 07302

Phone: (201) 793-8018

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

EDISON OFFICE

3840 Park Ave, Suite 202 A, Edison NJ 08820

Phone: (732) 659-9600

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

CRANFORD OFFICE

20 Commerce Drive, Room 135 Cranford, New Jersey 07016

Phone: (908) 838-0150

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions